Links  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From the Actrix Online Informer July 2012

How to dump Facebook

by Rob Zorn

 

Public opinion of Facebook has certainly changed in the past year or two. While some have been more than happy for Facebook to play a bigger part in their online lives, others have distanced themselves from the social media mogul, intent on protecting their privacy.

There's no doubt Facebook has become more invasive. Nowadays nearly every website has the option of signing-in using your Facebook account, giving Facebook access to more personal information about what you do and where you go online. What's more, Facebook is capable of capturing information about what you've been doing online, without even being signed into your account. This allows them to bombard you with advertisements tailored to your interests, but also opens up the possibility of tracking your passwords for other sites, such as banking and emails. Now I don't know about you, but I consider that a serious invasion of privacy.

Facebook enjoyed a massive rise to fame, but as more and more allegations arise of privacy invasions, people seem to be abandoning the site in droves. If you'd like to join them, here are a few tips to getting Facebook out of your life.

If you've ever tried to delete or deactivate your account before, you'll know it's a hard thing to do. Facebook has cleverly made it hard to leave.

There are a few options for ditching Facebook for good. The first is a temporary deactivation. If you just want a break, or think you might change your mind in the future, you can temporarily deactivate your account. This doesn't delete it, it just hides it. People won't be able to visit your profile, you won't be on other's friends lists, and all your information will disappear.

Temporarily deactivating your account is easy.

  • Log in to your account, and in the upper right corner on your home page, click the down arrow, and then account settings.
  • On the left, choose Security from the list of options, and you'll see the link to deactivate your account at the bottom of the page.
  • After clicking that link, you'll arrive at a page that asks you if you're sure you want to deactivate your account? You will see a group of your friends appear in very large photos, enticing you to remain. Confirm that you are sure by clicking the appropriate button.
  • Check the box to describe why you are deactivating, and fill in the text box to "explain further" (optional).
  • Make sure you check the box for "Email opt out." Doing this lets you opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook. If you don't select this, your friends can still invite you to events, tag you in photos or ask you to join groups. Opting out prevents them from sending emails and notifications anymore.
  • Press the "Deactivate" button, enter your password to confirm you own the account, and your account will now be hidden from other viewers on Facebook.

If you do change your mind and decide you want your account back, all you have to do is sign in to Facebook using your account details, and your account will reappear, just how you left it.

If you wish to permanently delete your account, you have two options.
The first is to do it yourself.

  • Log in to your account, and in the upper right corner on your home page, click the down arrow, and then Help. In the help page, type "delete my account" in the search bar.
  • Click the first option that appears, entitled "How do I permanently delete my account". This gives you a couple of paragraphs to read and at the end it says, "If you'd like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log in to your account and fill out this form."
  • After clicking that link you will be reminded that this is a permanent deletion and that your account cannot be reactivated and none of the content or information you have added can be retrieved.
  • Follow the steps, such as entering your password, email, and Captcha code, and click Okay. A small box will pop up telling you your account has been deactivated, and will deleted in 14 days if you don't change your mind. If you do change your mind, simply log in within those 14 days and your account will be reactivated.

The other option for deleting your account is to email Facebook directly.

  • Send an email to privacy@facebook.com, requesting Facebook delete your account.
  • You should receive notification in the next few days letting you know this has been done. If you don't hear back from Facebook within a week, email them again, and cc support@facebook.com and info@facebook.com into the email. This should get their attention.
  • Again, don't log in to your account for 14 days to avoid reactivating your account.

And that's how to get yourself free, folks.

 

 

 

Copyright 2012 Actrix Networks Limited | Contact: editor@actrix.co.nz